International Postgraduate Research Scholarships (IPRS) at Australian Universities

The International Postgraduate Research Scholarships (IPRS) program is funded by the Australian Government, Department of Innovation, Industry, Science and Research (DIISR). The IPRS program was established to maintain and develop international research linkages and specifically aims to:

  • Attract top quality international postgraduate students to areas of research strength in Australian higher education providers; and
  • Support Australia’s research effort.

The IPRS program enables international students to undertake a postgraduate research qualification in Australia and gain experience with leading Australian researchers. The scholarships are available for a period of two years for a Masters by research degree or three years for a Doctorate by research degree.

Host Institution(s):

The list of Australian Universities that offers the IPRS is found at this link.

 Field of study:

Any postgraduate research programme offered at participating Australian Universities.
Number of Awards:

Around 330 are awarded annually. The allocation of IPRS grants to participating universities is based on a formula that is reflective of their overall research performance.
Target group:

Scholarships are open to international students of all countries (except Australia and New Zealand).

 Scholarship value/inclusions:

The scholarship covers tuition fees and health cover costs for scholarship holders, and health cover costs for their dependents.


To be eligible for an IPRS, a student must:

(a) be an international student; and

(b) meet international student visa requirements as specified by the Department of Immigration and Citizenship (DIAC), including the requirement to purchase and maintain a standard Overseas Student Health Cover policy approved by the Commonwealth Government Department of Health and Ageing; and

(c) be commencing full-time enrolment for the first time in a HDR at an eligible scholarship provider in Australia; and

(d) be undertaking study in a subject area identified by the provider as one of its areas of research concentration; and

(e) not hold a research qualification regarded by the provider to be equivalent to an Australian Research Doctorate degree or, if undertaking a Research Masters degree, not hold a research qualification regarded by the provider to be equivalent to or higher than an Australian Research Masters degree; and

(f) not have held an Australian Agency for International Development (AusAID) scholarship within the two years prior to commencing the IPRS; and

(g) not be receiving a scholarship for which course tuition is a component under any other scholarship scheme to which the Australian Government makes a substantial contribution.

You must check with the Universities if they require specific eligibility requirements.

 Application instructions:

Applications for a scholarship need to be made directly to a participating Universities/Higher Education Providers (HEPs) in Australia. HEPs are responsible for determining the selection process by which scholarships are allocated to applicants.

Applications for 2012-2013 officially opens on 1 April 2012. The deadline varies among universities but is around July-October each year. It is important to visit the website of the University where you intend to apply and the official website (link found below) for detailed information on how to apply for this scholarship.
Contact information:

All enquiries regarding IPRS awards need to be directed to the university at which the applicant wishes to conduct their postgraduate research.

Official Scholarship Website:



For over 5 years (a member of Fladio International Nigeria Limited) has provided web solutions and advertising for public and private sectors. Our main division is Computer and Information Technology. Thanks to our flexible approach towards the development of new solutions, we have often been at the inception of digital revolution and incorporating the most recent technologies. When you partner with, you are associating with one of Africa’s best company for your ICT needs, we are the 1st Nigerian Company listed on the Economic Community for West African States (ECOWAS) ECOBIZ computer session in 2010. Focusing on quality, reliability and design of our products and services has brought us customers and partnership with local and Multinational Companies such as United Bank for Africa Plc (UBA), Interswitch Limited, Stanbic IBTC Bank Plc among others. Our current customer portfolio covers individuals, companies and Government agencies across the globe including Nigeria, India, United Kingdom, Mozambique and United States of America.

Share with friends on

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.